One of Those Days


My Dear Son,

Fun, right? Okay, there’s no water in there. But, still… Fun, right? I mean, for a 14-month-old (one week away from 15 months). You’d think it would be a little fun. Like 2 minutes fun. Maybe even 1 minute fun. But, noooo. You just walk right pass it. And, a lot of the time, pass all your other toys too. Like you have nothing to do, so bored, itching to scratch in things you shouldn’t, and throw over things you shouldn’t.

Alhamdulilah, there’s very few things that are hazardous for you in the house. I can actually count just 2 things that we need to say “No!” for – the TV and the plugs section next to your Dad’s side of the bed. The kitchen you’re not allowed to be in. But, those are exactly the things you go for when you get the chance. Now and again you’ll actually listen to me and turn around. The section next to your Dad’s side of the bed – we created some kind of barrier that worked very well until a few days ago when you took the whole thing apart effortlessly. Ma shaa Allah, you’re one strong little boy.

Our pass few days have been very bored and listless. Your Dad thinks it’s because of the hot weather. I think it’s because I just don’t feel like playing.

Today, I’ve tried to put you to sleep so many times. I think you’re on your way to Dreamland and then you get right up… to play…? Nooo. To moan and nag. I know you’re tired but everytime I try to make you sleep you just get up. Again… and again… and again. :-l Now, at the end of the day, I finally have you falling asleep in my arms as I write this. So, I gather bedtime is not going to be easy… now that you’ve had a late nap.

But, okay, I feel better now. I’m not so kuku anymore. Alhamdulilah. Now the question is, will you let me put you down? At times like these I should really just remember this:

With love,
Mommy

Leave a Reply

