Toddling, Brushing and the Beach :)


My Dear Son,

14 months old. SubhanaAllah. I watch you sleep, look at your face, your hands, your legs, your feet… How you’ve grown maa sha Allah :). I miss you when you’re sleeping, even though I know I need you to be sleeping because I need a break, but, I miss you being awake at same time. I’m enjoying and loving your company so much more as you grow into a beautiful personality maa sha Allah. May Allah, Most Compassionate, bless you with honorable traits as you grow into a little man, Ameen.

A quick update…

Yesterday, you got your first pair of walking shoes :). Yes, you are now officially a toddler, not a crawl in sight.

Maa sha Allah, I love your sense of humour. It just seems to be getting better as you grow. Like, in the week, you were standing on your Dad’s and my bed, (you love being on our bed) facing the mirror. You looked at your reflection and kept offering something to your reflection, finding it so amusing. I don’t know what was going on in your little head! Lol!

Something you do that’s not so amusing to me at the moment though is when you pull out my hair. Yes, you not only PULL my hair, but you pull it OUT and then find it so amusing, laugh, and nicely hand my hair back to me :-l. It’s not at all funny when you’re doing it, but later, when I think about it, I can’t help but laugh at your innocent humour. I think your Dad finds it funnier than you do. :-l

These days you love opening and closing doors and playing with door handles.

You like giving hand shakes.

You absolutely hate us to brush your teeth. You don’t mind doing it yourself, but obviously can’t do it properly. So, we’re forced to force you. 😦 It’s as unpleasant for us as it is for you. We’ve tried so many different things to make it more endurable. I play videos for you as your Dad brushes, I sing and dance and go all wacky mad. We’ve tried giving you some inspiration by showing you videos on Youtube of other babies brushing their teeth. But as soon as the brushing starts, uh-uh, nothing else matters except that screeching protest. We get the job done though, hopefully it’s done properly.

On to something lighter… A few days ago, you did something that convinced you Dad you’re a genius! You peeled your own banana, broke it in half and nicely ate it :). You just saw it lying there all lonely and decided, since no one is giving it to you, you might as well help yourself to it! Hahahaha!

You enjoy the beach. Here’s a photo of you and your Dad at the beach, watching the sunrise. 🙂 

With love,
Mommy

Leave a Reply

