Crawling, eating and everything else


My Dear Son,

Over the last few weeks you have improved your crawling skills, Alhamdulilah. You now crawl with your upper body lifted, not sliding on the floor anymore, unless you’re feeling a bit lazy. 🙂

You’re also using things to pull yourself up a lot. Your dad puts pillows behind you so that if you topple over, you land nicely on a soft pillow :). You don’t love walking like you used to though :(.

You have been hanging onto my clothes a lot lately. Sometimes I don’t even see you there. Once or twice I moved while you were clinging onto my dress and then you lost your grip and slipped a bit. Nothing serious though, Alhamdulilah. I’ve lost count of all the small falls and knocks here and there. All part of growing :). You still follow me to the bathroom and cling onto the door, shouting for me to come out. The problem with that, aside from me being unable to use the bathroom in peace, is that, one, you could fall when I open the door, and, two, you don’t understand that for me to come out of the bathroom you have to let go of the door. So, it becomes a bit of a tricky situation.

I don’t know if separation anxiety is back or if you’re just going through a demanding phase, but it’s again become a bit difficult to leave you on your own. Not as bad as before though. So, Alhamdulilah. Now, you don’t cry as much, but scream for my attention. And you just want to be picked up all the time.

You don’t like your toys much. Not interesting enough for you. So I can forget about appeasing you with rattles and cars. You prefer the top tech stuff, like laptops, phones, remote controls… So I’m looking for a broken laptop, phone, remote control to give you… It’s not easy to find.

We had our first visit to the paediatrician a few days ago. But you don’t really like the doctors here. We had your blood taken to check your iron level. What a commotion! My boy can really scream! At the end of it, you were wet with sweat! And so was the nurse! Shame, that poor nurse! So, apparently, you have low iron, my baba, and you need to pick up on those kilos. So, I’m working really hard to get you to eat. You have a very small appetite. I would mostly just feed you as you wanted as I feared that if I force fed you you’d consequently attach negative things to food and eating. Recently, I even started letting you self feed with finger foods. But, now, it’s serious stuff. I want a chubby, healthy baby. So, since yesterday, I’ve been force feeding you. Not pleasant, but doable. After every spoon, you scream at me, but, Alhamdulilah, you don’t spit out, the food goes down. I feel like we had a little chat through all the screaming though. It’s like you’re telling me, “Okay, Mommy, you’re the boss. I don’t like it, but I understand, you’re the boss”. Lol!!!

I have to explore more variety foods for you, but since yesterday, we’ve gone back to purees. It’s easier to force feed with pureed foods :). At least once a day I think you should have a pureed fruit or vegetable.

Today, we went to the clinic for your measles vaccination. Even in Arabia different doctors say different things. We met a nice Indian doctor, I think you like him because you seemed very content in his room. He says you’re fine, your weight is fine, all you need is extra iron. Mmmm…

On a lighter note… I absolutely love that you come and find me in the middle of the night when you wake up. You don’t scream and cry much, you simply crawl from your room to mine, which is right opposite yours. We leave both your room door and mine ajar so it’s easy for you. You then open the door further and crawl out and in :).

A quick note on your teething progress… Little Mr. Tooth No. 1 and 2 are well on their way :). Alhamdulilah, you’re not teething badly at all. 🙂

With love,
Mommy

Leave a Reply

